200.01 – Organization of the Board of Directors

The  Colfax-Mingo  Community  School  District  Board is authorized by and derives its organization from Iowa law.  The Board shall consist of 7 [seven] board members.  Board members shall be elected by the director district. The Board is organized for the purpose of setting policy and providing general direction for the school district.  The Board shall hold its organizational meeting at the first regular meeting following the canvass of votes.

The organizational meeting allows the outgoing Board to approve minutes of its previous meeting, complete unfinished business and review the school election results.  The retiring Board shall adjourn and the new Board shall then begin.  The secretary will administer the oath of office to the newly-elected Board members.  The secretary will preside while the new Board elects the president and vice president of the new Board.

Legal Reference:  Iowa Code 274.2; 275.23A; 277.23, .28, .31; 279.1, .5, .7, .8, .33; (2009)    281 I.A.C. 12.3 (2)

Date of Adoption: February 2, 1998

Reviewed & Revised: May 21, 2001; February 21, 2006; March 7, 2006; March 7, 2011; March 21, 2016