201 – BOARD OF DIRECTORS’ ELECTIONS                    

The school election takes place on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of odd-numbered years and shall be elected as follows:  One from District I, one from District II, one from District III, one from District IV, one from District V, one from District VI, and one from District VII.  All eligible voters of the Colfax-Mingo Community School District may vote for all seven directors and to address other questions that must be submitted to the voters.

Citizens of the school district community seeking a seat on the Board must file their nomination papers with the board secretary, or the board secretary’s designee, in accordance with the timelines established by law.

If a vacancy occurs on the board, it shall be filled in accordance with law and board policy.  

It is the responsibility of the county commissioner of elections to conduct school elections.

Legal Reference:  Iowa Code 39; 45, 63, 274.7; 277; 278.1, 279.7 (2009)

Date of Adoption:  July 1, 1985

Reviewed & Revised:  September 3, 1991, October 17, 1994, January 5, 1998, May 21, 2001, March 21, 2016, February 14, 2022