Colfax-Mingo Community School District Board of Directors Regular Board Meeting Colfax-Mingo Jr/Sr High School Media Center Monday, May 17, 2021

- Call regular meeting to order and determination of quorum: President Chet Williams called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Present: Patrick Utz, Mary Poulter, Dawn Gibson, Doug Van Dyke, Mardell Tomlonovic. Jan Myers arrived at 6:11 pm. Administrators present: Superintendent Anderson, Principal Summy, Principal Lancaster, and Principal Jones.
- 2. Tomlonovic moved, Poulter seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 6-0.
- 3. Notice of Public Hearing for 2020-2021 Budget Amendment: No written or oral comments received.
- 4. Recognition of Guests: Michael Britt was introduced as the Technology Director effective July 1, 2021. He replaces Jim Grife, who is retiring. Superintendent Anderson presented the Board with Certificates of Appreciation for their service as board members. Denise Bracewell served cake, courtesy of the Colfax-Mingo Education Foundation. Thank you, Board members, for your volunteer services to the betterment of CMCSD! Emily Perry and Kendra Perry were present to purport the continued use of masks for the remainder of the school year and through the summer school programs.
- 5. Administration Reports: Elementary summer school program has seventy-eight enrolled, the Jr/Sr High seventeen. The programs will run June 7 through July 2. Hot lunch and a take-home breakfast will be provided, along with transportation if requested. Art, music and physical education will be incorporated. Other topics reported included ISASP testing, professional development, upcoming events at both buildings, and teaching strategies. Both principals commended the staff for the extra diligence and commitment this year required. Director Beals provided the Board a report of district project, ongoing and scheduled, and their status.
- 6. Superintendent's Report: Superintendent Anderson updated the Board as follows: ISASP data to be available at next meeting; Conditions of Learning survey results will be compiled and shared; a new version for quick stats will be implemented for the fall; the June through August board meetings will be held at the Central office, because of construction at the other buildings; the Athletic Complex construction project is hampered by weather, delay of materials, and coordination issues; the district was approved for an emergency construction waiver due to damage at the Mingo site; correspondence from the Nutrition Director advised maintaining current lunch prices until further notice from the State; the Music department is planning a trip, and will bring information at a future board meeting.
- 7. Consent Agenda:
 - 7.1. Gibson moved, Utz seconded to approve the minutes of the 4/19 regular and 4/27 and 5/3 special board meeting as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
 - 7.2. Gibson moved, Van Dyke seconded to approve the May 2021 payables as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
 - 7.3. Utz moved, Tomlonovic seconded to approve the April 2021 financials as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
 - 7.4. Change orders: none
- 8. Action Items:
 - 8.1. Personnel Matters

Gibson moved, Tomlonovic seconded to approve the resignations: Natasha Mutchler and Heather Gentry, nutrition employees; Kaylyn Tomlonovic, paraprofessional; Aaron Bartholmey, 1-12 math; Jacob Crouse, 7-12 Social Studies; and Katie Hoffman, K-6 teacher, all effective at the end of the school year. Motion carried 7-0.

Tomlonovic moved, Poulter seconded to approve the hires: Laura Breckenridge and Daniel Larson, both K-6 instructors. Motion carried 7-0.

8.2. Poulter moved, Myers seconded to approve the Return to Learn Plan, to continue use of masks for the remainder of the school year; determine masks for summer school at the June 3 board meeting; masks optional for Senior Awards, graduation, and meetings with adults only; and masks optional at outdoor events. Motion carried 6-1. Nay: Van Dyke.

- 8.3. Tomlonovic moved, Van Dyke seconded to approve the 2020-2021 Budget Amendment, as published and a public hearing held. Motion carried 7-0.
- 8.4. Tomlonovic moved, Utz seconded to approve the increase to 2021-2022 activity pass prices as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
- 8.5. Myers moved, Tomlonovic seconded to approve Anderson-Erickson to provide dairy products for the 2021-2022 school year. Motion carried 7-0.
- 8.6. Tomlonovic moved, Myers seconded to approve Bimbo Bakeries to provide bakery products for the 2021-2022 school year. Motion carried 7-0.
- 8.7. Utz moved, Gibson seconded to approve the 2021-2022 Teacher Leadership and Compensation System Program as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
- 8.8. Utz moved, Poulter seconded to approve the 2021-2022 administrative contracts as presented. Motion carried 7-0. The settlement is 2%, total cost \$8,615.
- 8.9. Gibson moved, Utz seconded to approve changes to the 2021-2022 Schedule E as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
- 8.10. There were no special board meetings scheduled at this time.
- 8.11. Poulter moved, Van Dyke seconded to approve the 2021-2022 28E agreement with Baxter CSD to share a Media Director. Motion carried 7-0.
- 9. Discussion Items
 - 9.1. The Board is in consensus that the Retirement Plan be modified to set October as the deadline to submit intent to retire at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.
 - 9.2. Superintendent Anderson provided more information regarding a 5-member board, redrawing district boundaries, and replacing director districts with at-large districts. Any changes would not go into effect until July 1, 2023.
 - 9.3. The Board was in consensus that the district continue to share a counseling position with Baxter CSD, and pursue applicants for the 2021-2022 school year.
 - 9.4. Superintendent Anderson shared information about the extension of the optional FFCRA through September, 2021. Due to minimal covid-related absences at this time, the district will monitor on an individual basis and will revisit in the fall, consulting local health trends.
- 10. Adjournment: Van Dyke motioned to adjourn. Motion carried 6-0. 7:13 pm.

APPROVAL

Chet Williams, Board of Directors President

ATTEST

Debra A. Hodgson, Board of Directors Secretary