Colfax-Mingo Community School District Board of Directors Special Board Meeting Colfax-Mingo Central Office Tuesday, February 11, 2020

- 1. Call special meeting to order and determination of quorum: President Patrick Utz called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm. Present: Mary Poulter, Chet Williams, Dawn Gibson, Jan Myers, Doug Van Dyke, Mardell Tomlonovic (via phone due to vacation). Administrators present: Superintendent Anderson.
- 2. Approval of Agenda: Tomlonovic moved, Myers seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
- 3. Action Items:
 - 3.1. Personnel:

Van Dyke moved, Myers seconded to approve the hire of Monty Beals as Operations and Maintenance Director, effective February 24, 2020. Motion carried 7-0. The salary is \$75,000 with a comprehensive benefit package.

Myers moved, Poulter seconded to approve the resignation of Rebecca Carter as nutrition employee effective immediately, and the resignation of Katie Krumm as English/Language Arts instructor effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried 7-0.

- 3.2. Myers moved, Gibson seconded to approve the bid of \$37,200 from Environmental Property Solutions to abate the three outbuildings at the Mingo site, the house at 121 N. League Road, and identified areas in the three-story and gymnasium buildings at the Mingo site. Motion carried 7-0. Abatement will occur during the month of March.
- 3.3. Poulter moved, Tomlonovic seconded to approve Wednesday, March 11, 2020 as a special board meeting date to further discussion regarding goals and directive as it pertains to the superintendent evaluation process, and to review final 2020-2021 budget proposals. Motion carried 7-0.
- 3.4. Van Dyke moved, Williams seconded to approve Bank Iowa as the investment institute for the SAVE Revenue Bonds of \$8.035M, at a fixed interest rate of 1.55% in a money market account. Motion carried 7-0.
- 4. Adjournment: Van Dyke moved to adjourn. Motion carried 7-0. Time: 6:23 pm.

APPROVAL

Patrick Utz, Board of Directors President

ATTEST

Debra A. Hodgson, Board of Directors Secretary